Cake or death?

re-raspb-choc-macaroons608

A few days ago, as I sat on my couch feeling utterlly despotic over my current, stagnant life, I took a plunge and signed up for a 3-day free trial of Match.com.

Yes, I signed up for Internet dating.

I know that thousands of women across the United States sign up for this sort of thing every day, but this was not one of my proudest moments. I think myself to be fairly cute, intelligent, and at least bearable to be around…and I always envisioned myself romantically meeting the man of my dreams in the grocery store, with both of our arms reaching for the last jar of Nutella.

Fat chance of that, I’m sure. Which is why, as I sweat profusely onto my couch and half listened to  Andrew Zimmern going on about some inerd that he is always eating on his show, I “winked” at a boy I thought was interesting and cute. What am I, 13 again?

But I digress. Cute wink boy and I have been emailing back and forth over these past 2 days. And now I have reached the end of my free trial (which will cease my message sending and receiving capabilities) as well as discovered an online shop that happily bakes and sends out macaroons made by French patissiers and therefore I have reached a dilemma: macaroons or romance?

Which is more worthly of my extremely limited student funds? Clearly, I am currently infatuated with macaroons.

This dilemma seems to me to be quite similar to Eddy Izzard’s “cake or death?” dilemma. I mean really, who in their right mind would turn down cake?! Not me surely. Which is why I am having the difficulty turning down the siren-song of premade, buttery, and delicious macarons available for Internet order. Yummy confections seem infinitely better than possible heartbreak. But shouldn’t I be hunting down prospective victims (errr…men) instead of drooling over photographs on an online bakeries? Shouldn’t I just bake my own gosh darn macaroons, which I could then share with said prospective man? How the heck do I find the prospective man? Should I just run out of the coffee shop that I am currently planted in and snatch the next attractive man that walks by? And what about my macaroons?!

And this, folks, is why I am single and currently dessert-less.

{On the menu for this evening: salade de legumes au fromage de chevre}

6 Comments

Filed under Baking and dating

6 responses to “Cake or death?

  1. awww. that my friend is surely a dillema.
    sorry i spelled that wrong.
    anyway, can you send match.com boy your email address?
    then i think there are a few free dating sites you can use. they probably aren’t that good though, lol

    • Moi

      Erin, I did give him my email address. But now I’m scared that I’ll miss out on something by not paying for the whole month.
      How pathetic!

  2. The Deli Diva

    Hey Moi,

    Do like my mom always said and it worked for me…stop looking! She said that you will find Mr. Right once you stop looking. Sounds dumb, but it seems to work.

    I think once we stop thinking we “need” a man and start putting all our efforts into being the wonderful, intellegent, sexy things we are, suddenly we become so overwhelmingly desireable that the right guy will take notice and be drawn to you like bees to honey!

    In the meantime, keep those incredibly sinful photos of delicious yummies coming! My mouth is watering!

    • Moi

      Deli Diva, you (and your mom) are incredibly right. Without boring anyone reading this to tears, I will say that I got out of a pretty bad relationship about 6 months ago, I’m still reeling, and right now I’m just sending out feelers.
      But yes, for now I shall continue to crave dessert like it’s my job…and let everyone know about it.

  3. I say be yourself and you’ll attract the right kind of people to you (as in people who like “yourself”)! And if that involves lots of macaroons (and why shouldn’t it?), more power to you! By the way, I love Eddie Izzard and your blog cracks me up. I’m going to have to start reading regularly :-)

  4. Pingback: I still want un macaron « Will run for camembert

Leave a Reply

