I do declare, this is delicious

IMG_1942

Again, influenced by my recent viewing of Julie & Julia, I decided that I wanted to make myself a bruschetta/crostini concoction for dinner this evening. And honestly, I’m not sure why the heck I have never made this before. Eaten it, sure. But for some reason I had it in my head that there was much more than mixing tomatoes, onions, mozzarella, salt, and pepper together.

Granted, I’m sure there are “fancier” bruschetta/crostini recipes out there, but it’s amazing how delicious an heirloom tomato can be…even just chopped up and thrown into a bowl with a few other ingredients and then thrown onto a piece of toasted bread. I’m a college student, I practically live off of throw-together-and-eat meals. So I again asked myself, why the heck have I never attempted this before?!

IMG_1940

[insert craving for more here]

The “recipe” (served one comfortably):

  • 1 large heirloom tomato
  • Red onion to taste
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 3 small balls of mozzarella
  • 4 slices of crusty bread, grilled (easily done with a frying pan and a stove)

Directions: Dice the vegetables and mozzarella, mix together in a bowl, and spoon onto the grilled bread.

Easy as pie, really.

IMG_1941

Except the next time, I will definitely be adding more olive oil to the toasty bread…there is nothing more satisfying than warm, crusty bread with a splash of olive oil.

And since I am still (relatively) new to the south, I would like to proudly introduce my very first sun tea:

IMG_1943

I have yet to taste it as caffeine after the hour of 2:00 does not do good things for me, but considering I used my ever-loved Red Rose brand of black tea to brew this, I am thirstily looking forward to my first sip.

2 Comments

Filed under Daily Eats

2 responses to “I do declare, this is delicious

  1. Jill

    Wasn’t the crostini in the movie the yummiest looking thing ever?!?

Leave a Reply

