Julie & Julia

france-map

I will be the first to admit that my life is stuck in a rut; mediocre grades, a brainless job, a non-existant love life, feeling a very overwhelming sense of uncertaintly concerning my future. It has become blatantly obvious that I am just going through the motions of my life and, in the midst of drama, I seem to have lost sight of who I am and what I want.

Enter Julie & Julia.

I realize it is more than cliche to say that a movie-based-on-a-book-based-on-a-blog “changed your life”, but I left last night’s 7:40 showing feeling as if I had just been allowed to take a deep breath of fresh air. I realized that I wanted to be Julia Child-esque — fearless and independent. And then I realized that I need to do something about how glum and miserable I have been feeling (insert ‘my name is Eyeore’ joke here).

It’s time for me to take control.

My goals:

1. To run “around” France. Unfortunately, I am stuck in an air-conditionless apartment in Tennessee. And the heat outside makes mid-day runs less than desirable yet prying myself out of bed at 6:30 am is not something I find myself enjoying. So I am going to take a virtual running trip around my favorite country in the entire  world.

Total mileage? 1545.

2. To make (at least) 3 new recipes a week. Cooking relaxes me, gives me something to look forward to, (usually) produces delicious results. I will be cooking myself through The French Market as well as sprinkling in other recipes that have been sitting in my favorites folder, collecting dust.

3. In general, do lots of things that scare the #$%@ out of me.

So here goes nothing.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

